EISM Program

EISM logo 2 - EISM Program

About the EISM Program

Candidates who do not yet have 5 years of information security experience in at least 3 of the 5 CCISO Domains can still pursue a management certification to help propel their careers and put them on fast track toward obtaining the CCISO. EISM students must attend training – the same CCISO training that upper level executives attend – before attempting the EISM exam. There are no experience requirements for this exam. The courseware and training programs are exactly the same as those of the CCISO program. Imagine being able to push your new information security career forward using the same resources as seasoned professionals. That’s what the EISM program does. The EISM exam is a light version of the CCISO exam and tests the fundamentals of information security management.

Benefits of the EISM Program

  • EISM students are able to sit for the same training and courseware as seasoned CCISO students
  • EISM students are only tested on the basics of information security management while the CCISO candidates are tested on a much deeper level.
  • The EISM certification signals to the marketplace that you have chosen the management path as opposed to a purely technical career path
  • EISMs can apply for the CCISO program once they have acquired five years of experience in three of the five CCISO domains and receive the following:
  1. Waived application fee
  2. Half priced CCISO exam

The EISM program is right for you if:

  • You do not meet the minimum experience requirements for the CCISO program
  • You are more interested in a management career path than in a technical one
  • You have strong management skills and have worked in the information security industry for at least three years.
  • You are interested in one day obtaining a position as a CISO

The EISM Exam

The EISM Exam is based on the same bank of questions as the CCISO exam – questions written by CISOs for current and aspiring CISOs. The difference is, there are scenario-based questions that require years of on the job experience to answer on the CCISO exam. These are omitted from the EISM exam and only the basic information security management questions remain.

The EISM exam:

  • 150 questions
  • 2 hour time limit
  • Multiple choice
  • 70% is the minimum passing score
All EISM students must take EC-Council official training before sitting for the EISM exam. Click here for more information about training options.

Are you Ready to be a CCISO?

Subscribe to the CISO Podcast

apple podcasts badge 165x40 1 - EISM Program
listen on Stitcher badge - EISM Program
spotify podcast badge blk grn 165x40 1 - EISM Program
reader 164x40 2 1 - EISM Program

CCISO Body of Knowledge

CISO book - EISM Program

The EC-Council CCISO Body of Knowledge covers all five of the CCISO Information Security Management Domains in depth and was written by seasoned CISOs for current and aspiring CISOs.

Get your copy today

Featured Whitepaper

Request the CCISO Exam Application!

Apply Today!